... and their hospitality is legendary
Jamieson locals are friendly ...
JAMIESON'S LONG HISTORY
Jamieson has a fascinating and rich history, the legacy of the Gold Rush of the 1850's. After the 1854 discovery of gold at Casheens Flat south of Jamieson, a settlement started at the junction of the Goulburn and Jamieson Rivers at Jamieson Flat as a supply depot for gold prospectors crossing the rugged High Country to the Jordan Goldfields.
The township developed into a supply town with a population of between 3,000 and 4,000 - with breweries, hotels, banks, churches and even a courthouse. At its height the town had five hotels, each with its own orchestra, and two breweries - very different from today's quiet town which has a population of approximately 100.
To visit the Historical Society
website, click here:
Today, a small but vibrant community remains, living among beautiful deciduous trees in an area rich in heritage. Jamieson locals are friendly, their hospitality legendary.
The old court house in Nash Street is the home of the Jamieson Historical Society housing an interesting range of memorabilia of those early days, as well as books, maps and old photographs. The building is listed by National Estate and Heritage Victoria. It is open from November to Easter - on weekends and public holidays - except Christmas Day and Good Friday. Each season, one or two displays are rotated - currently, there is a special display containing items from ancestors of Jamieson residents who fought in the Great War.
Books, maps and old photos are available. It is well worth a visit! Aside from the heritage buildings around Jamieson, there are a number of disused goldmines and associated ruins to be explored.
While surrounded by rugged and remote country, Jamieson is less than three hours' drive from Melbourne, making it ideal for a weekend or mid-week getaway. Discover why Jamieson is a great place to live, and a great place to visit - all year round.
Nestled on the northern edge of the Great Dividing Range in North East Victoria lies the picturesque town of Jamieson. It is located at the junction of the Goulburn and Jamieson Rivers, just before they flow into Lake Eildon.
These rivers have long attracted gold hunters, anglers, swimmers and kayakers. There is a boat ramp immediately north of Jamieson to provide access to Lake Eildon, Victoria's largest inland waterway, for the many water skiers.
South of Jamieson are countless hectares of unspoilt bushland, alpine wilderness and stunning sub alpine valleys. These areas draw the 4WD enthusiasts, the dirt bike riders and the mountain bikers. Further along is the Alpine National Park.
Jamieson itself still has many landmarks from its heyday during the gold rush. Not just historic buildings but also the amazing array of exotic trees that make Jamieson so colourful each autumn.
Post Office Jamieson 1907-1912
Goulburn Brewery from Licola Bridge 1880-1900
Cartage to mines 1907-1912
Catholic Church & Pub 1907-1912
School hotel & courthouse 1880-1900
Perkins Street with snow 1880-1900
Carriage on track 1880-1900
Jamieson East with Blackledges 1907-1912
Brewery Cottage with Licola Bridge in foreground 1880-1900
To read about the Jamieson of today, click here
To read about the Jamieson of yesteryear, click here